Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)

What is CWD?
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a transmissible spongiform encephalopathy (TSE) affecting farmed and free-ranging deer, elk, and moose, in North America.
CWD is a progressive, fatal, degenerative neurological disease. It was first recognized in 1967 as a clinical ‘wasting’ syndrome of un- known cause in captive mule deer in Colorado. CWD belongs to the family of diseases known as transmissible spongiform encephalop- athies (TSEs). TSEs include a number of different diseases affecting animals or humans including bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) in cattle, scrapie in sheep and goats, and Creutzfeldt-Jacob disease (CJD) in humans. Although CWD shares certain features with other TSEs, it is a distinct disease affecting only deer, elk, and moose.
To learn more about CWD and how you can help prevent the spread of the disease, watch our video about Chronic Wasting Disease.

TAHC CWD Herd Programs

The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) provides a voluntary herd status program for species that are susceptible to CWD. Those that participate in the program must have a herd inventory performed annually by a TAHC, USDA, or accredited veterinarian.

For more information about the CWD herd program, call your TAHC region office or 800-550-8242 x777.

USDA CWD Herd Programs

  • USDA CWD Herd Certification Program Factsheet
  • USDA CWD Program Questions and Answers
  • For Producers: Find a TAHC Certified CWD Veterinarian

    This is a list of veterinarians that have authorized TAHC to publish their information. To determine if a veterinarian not listed is a TAHC Certified CWD Veterinarian for antemortem CWD testing, please contact the TAHC Authorized Personnel Department at or call Laura Leal at (512) 719-0761 or Dr. Susan Culp at (512) 719-0716.

    Rules and Regulations

    Movement Requirements and Records

    Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) Mandatory CWD Testing Requirements and Check Stations

    TAHC Chronic Wasting Disease Zones

    TAHC Information Resources

    Informational Websites